top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureoasisskinspa

"I thought I was supposed shed like a lizard"

Updated: Sep 30, 2018



That is the most common misconceptions about peels on the market today. Less than 20 years ago a chemical peel had to be done in a doctors office, with severe pain, inflammation, and downtime. With the advancements in skincare today we can achieve the same results in a two month period with no down time, minimal pain (depending solely on each persons sensitivity to the chemical exfloiate), and still have a relaxing facial treatment.

Peels still should not be done at home by yourself, Licensed Estheticans are trained in what to look for when it comes to reactions and stopping a peel before it progresses too far. My personal experience with peels varies so drastically, In the beginning of my career I had the opportunity to work with some serious Rhonda Allison peels, The most dramatic results I had seen at that point was from a 15 % solution TCA , a non-toxic chemical (trichloracetic acid), which has been used to perform skin peels for over 20 years. It is a relative of vinegar (acetic acid.) after applying around 12 layers on this peel to the clients face there was frosting, when parts of your skin turn white, on the entire face. between each layer there was a period of time that was used to check the entire face to see if the skin was responding, and once the desired level of lift was achieved there were no more additional layers added. This peel caused serious pain to my client, it was gut wrenching. The client went home and work up with their skin super tight and inflamed, which was to expected. The next week she sent multiple pictures of the progression of the peel, Everyday a little more skin peel off in different areas of the face, she was not able to wear make up due to the severity of the peeling and the need for constant aftercare application. The results were absolutely stunning, though. All of the visible sun damage was gone and what was left was velvety smooth soft, supple skin.

I was hooked on these deep peels after this. I saw a huge change in a week and my brain couldn't imagine anyone wanting to wait months when they could see this in a week, but there are people out there - like myself, who are unable to have downtime where you cannot sweat, or get your face wet. People live active lifestyles and that gets in the way of services like this.

Fast forward five years later, I have been dealing with severe acne for myself for at least 3 years, I have tried every single product I can get my hands on and some work for a short period of time and others exacerbate the acne ten fold. I'm sitting there in my treatment room shopping for another product that may work then it hit me, "I have the ability to do a peel series on myself" So I set aside time in my schedule for the upcoming six Fridays, it doesn't take more than an hour each week, seems doable. I decide to go with my Hylunia Glycolic peel, which reacts with the upper layer of the epidermis, weakening the binding properties of the lipids that hold the dead skin cells together. This allows the stratum corneum to be exfoliated, exposing live skin cells, and Finish with their Hyluronic Cream Mask. The first treatment came and even though I knew this was a lower level peel I was still nervous about what I was going to experience, I cleansed, toned, and applied the enzyme mask as per protocol, then it was time to Apply the glycolic peel. Taking a deep breath I applied to my entire face and prepared for the worst... The worst I felt was a short sting around areas where my acne was at its worse. Doable, very little redness, mostly around the active acne just like the pain. I did this with confidence for 6 weeks, like clockwork and was still about to work out the next day and stayed on top of it. I noticed results immediately, clients started commenting on how amazing my skin looked right off the back. MAGIC

One of the most important things to remember with any peel at any level is that home care is essential for great results.

Which means, I had a pretty intense regimen, six products in the morning and four at night, but nothing I can't handle since dealing with acne for three years. The results have been so worth the wait and convenience of a full six week series. Yes I still break out during my period, but skin is skin and will not be perfect all of the time.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page